https://nanyte.com/photoresists/photec-hm · last updated 2026-10-15
- Manufacturer
- Resonac
- Tone
- negative
- Thickness
- 56–112 µm
- Developer
- Standard sodium carbonate solution (concentration, temperature and pressure not stated)
- Applications
- Electroplating / molding · High aspect ratio
Cross-checked — the spin curve (where published) and the single-value figures were read twice, independently, from the datasheet, with any disagreement settled against it.
- Substrate
- Resist
- Exposed
Coating — dry-film lamination
Photec HM is supplied as a pre-cut dry-film sheet and applied by hot-roll lamination — it is not spin-coated. Thickness is fixed per sheet, 56–112 µm, selected by sheet rather than by spin speed.
- A laminated dry film: thickness is set by the grade (56, 75 or 112 µm in the listed HM-4000 series), so there is no spin curve.
- The product page gives no lamination temperature, pressure, speed or hold time, and no substrate preparation.
- Adhesion
- No adhesion promoter or substrate preparation is described on the product page. It lists an adhesion figure instead: on a line/space layout of x over 400 µm, the narrowest line that stays attached is 22 µm for HM-4056, 35 µm for HM-4075 and 32 µm for HM-40112.
Soft bake
- Soft bake
- Not published — characterize on-tool
- Notes
- No bake between lamination and exposure is listed on the product page.
SOURCE: Characteristics table, Resonac Photec HM Series product page
Exposure dose
Photec HM's dose is published per sheet thickness, not as a single number. Read the row for the sheet you laminate and run a dose array around it.
- As published
- Dose rises steeply with sheet thickness: 85 mJ/cm² for the 56 µm sheet, 130 for 75 µm and 270 for 112 µm, measured with a collimated extra-high-pressure mercury lamp. No wavelength is stated.
| Sheet | Dose |
|---|---|
| 56 µm | 85 mJ/cm² |
| 75 µm | 130 mJ/cm² |
| 112 µm | 270 mJ/cm² |
SOURCE: Characteristics table, Resonac Photec HM Series product page…
Characteristics table, Resonac Photec HM Series product page: 'Exposure energy (mJ/cm2)' 85 / 130 / 270 for HM-4056 / HM-4075 / HM-40112, footnoted '*1 Collimated light type' under the 'Extra high pressure mercury lamp' row. One value per grade, not a range. The page states no wavelength.
Development
- Developer
- Standard sodium carbonate solution (concentration, temperature and pressure not stated)
- Developer family
- Buffered alkaline
Not published for this resist: Dilution, Time, Method, Rinse — characterize on-tool.
SOURCE: Benefits, Resonac Photec HM Series product page: the film…
Benefits, Resonac Photec HM Series product page: the film 'responds to development with standard sodium carbonate solutions and peeling solutions used for printed wiring boards'
Hard bake, etch & strip
- Stripper
- Removed with the peeling (stripping) solutions standard in printed-wiring-board shops; the page names no chemistry, concentration or time.
Not published for this resist: Hard bake, Descum, Etch resistance, Storage — characterize on-tool.
Where it's used
Practical notes from the datasheet
Positioned for the copper plating step in printed wiring boards that need a high aspect ratio, and for electroforming in metal-mask manufacture. Resonac claims the film holds a resist thickness above twice the hole diameter or line width, with smooth sidewalls and chemical resistance good enough for copper and other electroplating. The measured resolution on the contact-exposure grades is 25 µm lines and spaces at 56 µm thick, 35 µm at 75 µm and 50 µm at 112 µm, so the minimum feature grows roughly with the sheet. Profile photos on the page show a 30 µm diameter feature in the 56 µm film, 180 µm / 30 µm lines and spaces in 112 µm film, and a 30 µm resist post with a 40 µm space also in 112 µm film. This is a plating-mold film, not a thin print-and-etch film; there is no lamination, develop-time or shelf-life guidance on the page, so get the full datasheet before setting up a line.
Sources & disclaimer
- Resonac — Photec HM datasheet (None printed. This is an HTML product page (copyright line 2026), not a revisioned datasheet; the data is labelled 'One of our data'.) · accessed 2026-10-15
Manufacturer datasheet values are starting points; optimal parameters depend on your substrate, equipment and environment. Product names and trademarks belong to their respective owners. NANYTE is not affiliated with the manufacturers listed. Last updated 2026-10-15.
